2015 Reading Goals and Challenges

2015

Hello lovely people! I hope your year has been going great so far; mine has been busy the way it has been for months. I do finish exams in a couple of weeks though, and I’m hoping I can manage being more active on the blog. I was quite disappointed by the end of the year stats; apprently, I’ve only made 24 posts throughout the whole year, and that’s a shame. I’ve read great books (coincidently, 24 as well) and didn’t get the chance to tell you all about them or have anything concrete to remember them by or reference later on. I hope this remorse will fuel my dedication to reviewing throughout the next year, even if I’m busy.

My progress with the challenges I’ve set up last year was… well, let’s not talk about that. I did read some classics but not necessarily fulfilling the categories of the reading challenge I’d signed up for. I really tried to make things work for the Deal Me In challenge, but I failed due to my inconsistency issues. I will give it a chance this year though since I do need to get through the short story collections I own. But aside from that, I have my own reading goals set this year. The list for Deal Me In will be included below.

It’s important for me to mention that these aren’t rules I mean to abide by. If I don’t get a chance to read any of the books mentioned below, it’s okay. I can’t guarantee I’ll find even half of these, but this list is to help me remember my literary priorities and always have a list to reference when I’m book-shopping.

 

Modern Authors I Want to Explore This Year

1- Toni Morrison

2- Zadie Smith

3- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

4- Maya Angelou

5- Patrick Ness

6- Elif Shafak

7- G. Willows Wilson

*having so many women on the list wasn’t intentional, I promise.

 

Classics I Want to Read This Year

1- Tess of the D’ubervilles by Thomas Hardy

2- War and Peace or Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

3- The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

4- A Shakespearean play

5- Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

 

At least 3 Books in Arabic 

At least 3 Nonfiction Books


DMI

spades Spades

1 The Peaches – Dylan Thomas

2 Fiction – Alice Munro

3 The Wedge-Tailed Eagle – Geoffrey Dutton

4 Wenlock Edge – Alice Munro

5 Her First Ball – Katherine Mansfield

6 Deep Holes – Alice Munro

7 Ha’ Penny – Alan Paton

8 Free Radicals – Alice Munro

9 The Rain Horse – Ted Hughes

10 Face – Alice Munro

J The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – James Thurber

Q Some Women – Alice Munro

K The Road – James Hanley

heartsHearts ()

1 Child’s Play – Alice Munro

2 Growing Up – Joyce Cary

3 Wood – Alice Munro

4 Lie Thee Down Oddity – T.F. Powys

5 Too Much Happiness – Alice Munro

6 Samphire – Patrick O’Brian

7 The Fullness of Life – Edith Wharton

8 Tickets, Please – D.H. Lawrence

9 An Hour – Louisa May Alcott

10 Ernest Hemingway – Indian Camp

J The Ice Palace – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Q The Art of Seeing Things – John Burroughs

K: Spring Fugue by Harold Brodkey

diamondsDiamonds (♦)

1 Porcelain and Pink – F. Scott Fitzgerald

2 The Looking Glass – Anton Chekhov

3 The Star – H.G. Wells

4 After the Dance – Leo Tolstoy

5 One of these Days – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

6 The Nightingale and the Rose – Oscar Wilde

7 A Woman Is Always a Woman – P.G. Wodehouse

8 The Flood – Emile Zola

9 Rumpelstiltskin – the Brothers Grimm

10 Rapunzel – the the Brothers Grimm

J Hearts and Hands – O. Henry

Q Eveline – James Joyce

K The Inconsiderate Waiter by J.M. Barrie

clubs

Under Construction!

You can find me on:

5 thoughts on “2015 Reading Goals and Challenges

    • Well, it’s just reading one story per week, so if one’s committed, it’s quite doable. I will keep an eye on your blog for inspiration; I’m always on the outlook for short stories for my list. Good luck meeting your reading goals this year, and thank you for coming by! 😀

      • Oh, okay, thanks for clearing that up! My hope this year is to be able to do both, books (novels and nonfiction alike) and short stories. They just seem like a wonderful way to get exposed to a variety of topics! 😀

Leave a Reply

