Manno Reviews Popular Books (2 MINI REVIEWS)

I have a massive number of unreviewed books, and the more they get the less likely I’ll review any of them. I decided to make little clusters based on categories, starting with two quite popular books that I’ve read: Divergent by Vernoica Roth and an Abundance of Katherines by John Green. 

13335038

Divergent by Veronica Roth

 I read this one quite a while go –I’d say I finished it some time in May and it only took me a couple of days to get through. I was reading it for a readathon, too, so that helped prod me forward whenever I felt like I wanted to put it down. I’d been avoiding it for a while because of all the hype, but it was just lying there on my sister’s shelf and I thought, “Why not?”

 It was okay. The writing was not particularly fantastic; I found it a bit flat to be completely honest. It’s the same problem I face with most dystopian YA books… A big twisty plot, a not a whole lot of writing. At least this one didn’t have too many unnecessary plot twists. But anyway. The characters were okay, not as flourished and fleshy as I’d want them but they fared well. There was a nice discussion of morals throughout the book and I liked the journey of self-discovery; I thought it added a bit to the narrator.

 As for the romance, which I’d always rather not discuss but kind of have to. It was a bit cliché, but also not the centerpiece of the story which was rather comforting. I was glad that feelings took some time to happen and were not instant noodles.

 This book was not a stunner, but it’s not really as bad as I thought it would be and I understand the hype that surrounds it.

 

15707124

An Abundance of Katherine by John Green

 I expect a lot of John Green. More than I probably should. I think that he’s special because he does what most YA writers don’t bother with: he gives the story more than just a plot. There is use of literary techniques and foreshadowing and fancy things that you’d have to read the book a second time to pick up on.

 An Abundance of Katherines wasn’t like that and I suppose that’s okay because it wouldn’t have suited it. I read this book a couple of weeks ago while I was vacationing. Some of it was read by the pool, some while on the sand, and some while I slouched over my bed after meals. I’d say it was good company because it had been a while since I’d last read a book with such likable characters.  After spending a while in the water, I’d wonder what they’d be up to next and I’d dry myself and sit and read for a good measure. And I found that absolutely delightful; I’d missed feeling like that about a book.

 It’s not a mind-blowing story but it’s told nicely. I liked the setting and the characters are just so lively, and the dialogue is entertaining so I didn’t mind its being a mediocre story.

 This was my first time reading on the beach, and I’ll say that this book is a perfect beach read!

 

You can find me on:

One thought on “Manno Reviews Popular Books (2 MINI REVIEWS)

  1. I like John Green (& his office is just a couple miles from mine!) but haven’t read this one yet. I really enjoyed his novel, Paper Towns. I don’t think I’ve ever read on the beach(!) I guess pretty much all the times I’ve gone to the beach occurred when I was a youngster and didn’t read anywhere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

