Book Review #7: I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

18465605

4

Yes, yes, it has been a while since I’ve last written or even logged onto here. I blame exams which were, and still are but to a less extent now, squelching the life out of me. I read I Kill the Mockingbird during Bout of Books in May and it’s about the time I put out my thoughts on it.

I Kill the Mocking Bird is a middle grade book in which the three main characters are trying to encourage more people in their town to read the beloved To Kill a Mockingbird. When I stumbled upon this book on NetGalley, I’d just read To Kill a Mockingbird and was still trying to get over how good it is. I certainly don’t regret requesting it because it turned out to be a lovely read, and absolutely perfect for a readathon.

I’ll start out by stating that I’m not sure whether the characters feel as though they’re age –what I mean to say is that I felt that they seemed a little older than they actually are. But as I haven’t interacted with 7th graders in a while, I’m not sure what level of maturity they occupy. But anyway, that didn’t bother me too much because there are lots of great things about the book.

We’re presented with a group of three friends who are incredibly smart and literary. AND GUESS WHAT? None of them get bullied, the boy among them is incredibly good at sports but also likes reading, and they seem to lead on quite a normal life. I understand that in Western schools there’s a lot of bullying aimed at “nerdy” kids. But I know a few people who are nerds and didn’t face a problem with that. And I think it’s important to represent that aspect in books to encourage children to stick to being literary and loving books if that’s what makes them happy. But we grow up with the idea that we need to be popular and slightly dumb so that we can avoid having people pick on us, when that isn’t necessarily the case. So this was one of the reasons I really liked this book.

I also believe that it’s quite the lovely, inspiring concept. This is the kind of book I’d push my little brother’s way to help nurture the way I think is great –the literary way. I did also like how they went about attracting people’s attention toward To Kill the Mocking Bird. It was rather brilliant.

It’s a really short, simple but also wonderful book. That’s why I have very little to say about it. But seriously, if I were to recommend a bunch of books to the intended age group, this would definitely be among them. Let me know if you’ve read it and what you thought about it.

I have one more week of exams then I’m all yours. I’m behind on some reviews thanks to Bout of Books, but hopefully, I’ll have lots of free time on my hands and will manage to catch up.

I hope you’re having a great day and, as always, happy reading!

You can find me on:

Leave a Reply

