World Cancer Day (4th of Feb): 5 Books about Cancer

cancer world day

I know I’ve already posted once today and that I haven’t put up any reviews in a bit, but this is important to me. Today is World Cancer Day; it is a chance for everyone to debunk myths about cancer. And though fiction can probably never fully put what cancer patients and survivors go through into words, it’s not a bad way to get a glimpse at it. I’ve also made sure to add in a couple of non-fiction books. I have not read all of the books mentioned below, but I have certainly heard a lot about them and they’ve been widely admired by people I know personally.

1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

This book takes a look into the life of family with a girl suffering of a severe case of cancer. There are lots of twists and lots of emotions all over the place. I know she’s written lots of books, but I like to believe this is her best one. It also includes some interesting medical facts here and there.

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I don’t think this book comes as a surprise to anyone. Everyone has been talking about it lately and I guess that’s why some might shy away from reading it now. But it does a great job exploring the impact of cancer on teenagers and their families, and it’s written really, really beautifully.

3. This Star Won’t Go Out: The Life and Words of Esther Grace Earl (nonfiction)

Esther is the girl who inspired the Fault in Our Stars and the book just came out a couple of days ago, so I haven’t read it yet. But it is a collections of essays and journals written by her herself, so I’m hoping it will offer an interesting, but also enlightening prospect on the matter. If you’ve read it, do let us know what it’s like!

4. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I haven’t read this book either but it is one that I’ve been lusting after for a while and is recommended by everyone who’s read it. In this story, the mother is suffering of terminal cancer and we get to see how this affects her and her son’s life. Some people say this is Ness’s strongest book out there and that it explores the disease in a unique and creative way.

5. The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch (nonfiction)

My friends have recommended this book to me over and over again but they never told me it’s about cancer or written by someone who suffered of terminal cancer. What they did mention though is that it’s one of the best, most inspiring things they’d ever read. And I think it’s amazing that something about cancer could send a message as bright as this one.

I’m sure there are many more books out there about cancer, but these are ones that I’ve either read or have been strongly recommended to me by people I fully trust the tastes of. Today, we debunk myths about cancer via the Twitter hashtag #WorldCancerDay . If you know any other books about cancer, do mention them below in the comments or make a post like this one and link me to it so we can get to a bigger number of people.

Keep in mind that cancer does have symptoms, and each type has a varying set of symptoms. If you ever experience a combination of them, make sure you get a thorough check up. Also, do remember that regular check ups with your doctor are crucial. Cancer is not contagious, it’s not always terminal, and each cancer patient goes through an experience unique to them. Therefore, raise awareness about cancer; talk to real patients and survivors and talk to your doctor to straighten up your facts and enrich your knowledge on this topic.  Stay safe, strong, and healthy.

You can find me on:

4 thoughts on “World Cancer Day (4th of Feb): 5 Books about Cancer

Leave a Reply

