30 Day Book Challenge: Day #10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

Click on the picture for a full list and to know what all the jazz is about!

Click on the picture for a full list and to know what all the jazz is about!

Alright; it’s time for anecdote. I think it has been a little over a week since I’ve last posted for the challenge, but hey, I have a reason. After I struggled to write a post for day 10, the internet went off, and then, even though WordPress usually autosaves a draft, the one time I actually needed it, that didn’t happen. So I was like, oh well, whatever, I’ll just go read. And ever since, I have been procrastinating. Now though, let’s put this behind us and kick off this trend once again!

I think it was fate that this post was delayed till now. Last time when I wrote about it, I chose the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Yet, as is normal in an avid reader’s life, such things rarely tend to be set in stone. So Hitchhiker, you did surprise me,  but this post will be dedicated to Gone with the Wind, the reviews on which you can find here and here.

You’re all probably going to be sick of me for talking about Gone with the Wind so frequently, but I can’t help it, my loves. You know when you find your new favourite thing and all you can do is think about it? And if you’re a lucky person like me and have a blog, you get to gush about it with people who love it as well or are looking about for a new favourite thing and decide they might find it in this book? This is sort of my little evil plan; I’ll talk so much about it until y’all read it to know what the fuss is all about!

But anyway. As some of you may know, Gone with the Wind is a chunkster. Most editions have 1037 pages but mine has 1448 pages. Therefore, I was quite terrified by its size. Then, when I read the blurb on the back, I had a dreadful feeling that it’s going to be a stale history book with a silly love story thrown in there to make it a bit lighter.

I’m glad to announce that I was so wrong, and that the history is anything but stale and the love story is probably the most realistic one I’ve come upon in a classic yet. For me, the elements of the story, down to the least important character was perfect.

Therefore, as I have done in both of my posts about this book, I encourage you to pick my new favourite book.

 

You can find me on:

3 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day #10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

  1. I am so grateful to Cecilia (Only You) for inadvertently reblogging this post! This has allowed me to discover Manno’s blog! Especially since we obviously share top-notch enthusiasm for Gone With the Wind! I totally agree with you; this is one of my favorite books of all time…it is timeless, in my opinion! I have read this book at least 6 times and watched the movie 8 or more times! (Yes, I’m old!) I can remember watching the movie 3 times when it was showing at the small local theatre in my college town… I love the way you note in your first two reviews that the small characterization details allow the reader to feel as if s/he truly KNOWS the characters. And really, regardless of my opinion of each character’s personality/actions/behaviors, I LOVED them all, because they were so real! It was exactly those irritating characteristics of Scarlett’s that allowed her to survive and help others do the same, despite all the obstacles she encountered! And Rhett…well, I just love his honesty and sense of humor, though even he gets a gut full, eventually! Another book I feel is just as well written and would heartily recommend is A White Wind Blew by James Markert. It is also historical fiction (shorter in length), with, in my opinion, the same attention to detail that makes the people seem so real! Nice to meet you, Manno! I look forward to reading your posts! And being goodreads friends!

Leave a Reply

