Book Review (#23): The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe by Douglas Adam (mini-review)

11

4

If you’ve been following me for a while, then you know I rarely go for light-hearted books. And when I do, I hardly enjoy them much. And I don’t know whether I was just in a good mood while reading this book so I enjoyed it, but all I know is I did like it a lot, and hopefully will get to reading the remaining books in the series soon. 

hitchhiker's guide

My first impression of the book was utter confusion. It actually reminded me of my impression of Doctor Who when I first started watching it. There’s just about so many different things happening, and you don’t know how they relate to each other. Also, Ford Prefect which is one of the main characters keeps on thinking about the weirdest things. Honestly, 50 pages into the book, and I was ready to abandon it because I couldn’t understand anything that’s happening and I just couldn’t see where it would all go.

I’m not sure what it is that made me put up with it, but I’m glad I did. Because once things start to be cleared up, and characters other than Ford Prefect and Arthur Dent tagged along, the story gets so much better. Adams’s narration is so witty and funny, but also calculated. There characters take on the craziest of conversations, making them sound so serious, and that’s great entertainment. Which brings me to my next point!

It’s absolute nonsense most of the time. It’s kind of like the Importance of Being Earnest, and it happens in outer space. Crazy things keep on happening but you go on with it because the characters are quite interesting and say many funny thing. The difference, it’s fun just for the sake of fun; it has none of the social criticisms that Wilde always aims for.

I think the most inventive character in the story is Marvin who is a depressed robot. The concept intrigued me to no end and he was so well-written! If you follow me on Twitter, you’d know that ninety percent of the things I quoted from the book were said by Marvin.

“Life,” said Marvin dolefully, “loathe it or ignore it, you can’t like it.”

I think that this would be a perfect read for almost anyone, but especially someone who wants something light and easy to get through.

 

You can find me on:

Goodreads || Instagram || Tumblr || Twitter

(if you have a Tumblr, leave me a link in the comments!)

4 thoughts on “Book Review (#23): The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe by Douglas Adam (mini-review)

  1. I felt the same way when I first started reading this book! It took me some time to really get into it. And Marvin is by far my favorite character in this novel- he’s so sarcastic and funny! 🙂

  2. This is such a fun book! I finally listened to it on audiobook a few months ago, and I must have been quite a sight, cracking up in my car every few minutes. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

