30 Day Book Challenge: Day #8

Click on the picture for a full list and to know what all the jazz is about!

Click on the picture for a full list and to know what all the jazz is about!

DAY 8. – Most underrated book.

So clearly I missed yesterday’s post. But in my defense, I had a continuous pounding headache ALL day and I was too immersed in Gone with the Wind to care about anything else. I think that’s an good enough excuse. But let’s go ahead and talk about books because today, I’m bringing out a favourite!

Everyone knows Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice, and Mr. Darcy. Most people also know Sense and Sensibility. And others who are interested in Jane Austen know about other less popular books such as Mansfield Park and Emma and so on. And even though I’m in the 3rd category and thought I knew and heard a lot about Austen, I walked into a bookstore one day, catching her name on a book I’d never seen or heard of before. It’s called Persuasion. I picked up the book thinking that if I read the blurb on the back I might recognise it, but no, nothing seemed to ring a bell. I’d never heard of Persuasion by Jane Austen even though I’d discovered Booktube and the blogsphere by then. And now that I have an active role on here, I still don’t hear about it often enough.

photo (15)

Click on the picture to find my review of Persuasion!

This book was too amazing that I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard of it before. I’ll admit, the cast wasn’t as animated as that of Pride and Prejudice, but I still liked the characters of Persuasion better. The main character is quite reclusive and harshly severed by life, and that makes her view of the world and people so interesting but also furtively narrated. Many things are implied and therefore you have to really make sure you’ve gotten to know the characters to understand the situations and the things being said. There’s also a grace in the narration that I don’t recall noticing in P&P and that’s probably what won me.

I wasn’t able to talk much about the book right after I read it, and that was 7 months ago. So don’t expect me to be able to say much about now. But the one thing I can say is that if you like Jane Austen and you still haven’t read Persuasion, you absolutely should go for it.

Which Jane Austen books have you read so far? And which was your first Austen novel?

3 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day #8

  1. I don’t like Austen, Emma bored me to tears and I’m dreading reading P&P even though it’s on my must-read list. Buuuut I really liked Persuasion, It’s such a short book but so much happens in it and I actually LIKED Anne which is more than I can say for any of the characters in Emma! (Sorry I know my stance on Austen is unconventional and I do feel like a traitor saying it :()

    It is nice to hear someone else talking about it, I think because it’s so short and was written so close to her death it tends to get overlooked.

    • YAY, someone who likes Persuasion! I read Emma about 3 years ago, and God knows I didn’t get anything of it back then, but I don’t think it’s much like Pride and Prejudice. I think P&P has more events. I can’t claim I remember much about Emma but I do remember lots of strolls in gardens and long conversations about matchmaking. There’s also Emma’s knack for analysing people, which also led to lots of conversations. And the talkative neighbor; I do remember the talkative neighbor. Do correct me if I’m wrong though, my memory of it IS very hazy.

      What I’m trying to say is, you don’t have to dread P&P. For me, it wasn’t as fun as Persuasion, but it was still fun to get through. And like I said in the post, it has rather interesting characters.

      I’m looking forward to see what you’ll think of it when you do read it. 🙂

      Thanks for coming by and commenting!

      • That’s good to hear! You certainly have Emma right; there was an awful lot of talking, walking in the garden (I’d forgotten that) and going to people’s houses for tea. And a lot of failed match making but she never learnt her lesson silly girl. It was the lack of events that put me off so maybe I won’t hate P&P as much as I’m expecting….

Leave a Reply

