Bookish Things: Bout of Books Read-a-Thon 8.0

Bout of Books

Okay, I think we all know that I’m not that good at the whole “read-a-thons” thing. The only one I succeeded at following through with was the Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon, and my every other attempt with other read-a-thons, most recently the SummerLovin’ read-a-thon, has failed. But I’ve retrieved my willingness to devour books, and I’m seriously behind on my 50 Books Reading Challenge, so… Hopefully this will workout. I’m planning for daily updates and more frequent ones on Twitter.

What is Bout of Books, you ask? Well.

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

What are my goals? Over the course of the week, I hope to:

  • Read at least 50 pages of Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell every day.
  • Finish the Etymologicon by Mark Forsyth
  • Finish the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  • Squeeze in another book (around 200 pages), chosen upon accomplishing the previously mentioned goals.

If you’re following me and doing this, I would love us to encourage each other throughout the read-a-thon, and maybe even become friends! If you’re interested, comment below!

Best of luck to all the participants; I’m certain we’re in for a blast! And happy reading!

Remember that we can be buddies!

You can find me on:

Goodreads || Instagram || Tumblr || Twitter

4 thoughts on “Bookish Things: Bout of Books Read-a-Thon 8.0

    • Hello! Regarding the Etymologicon… Even though I’m about 70 pages in, I’m not entirely sure. I have a very bad memory, so the things I read about the stories behind word origins, I forget very easily. But said stories are quite fun to read and they’re narrated really nicely. 🙂

      And I agree! I’m not too harsh on myself. Most of the time anyway… I’m rather excited though!

      Thanks for the encouragement and for coming by! It means a lot to me! 😀

    • Ah, that’s okay! Hopefully another read-a-thon will come up soon and you’ll be able to participate in it! Or we could participate in it together and have lots of fun doing it!

      Thank you for the encouraging comment! 😀

Leave a Reply

