30 Day Book Challenge: Day #4 + Personal Updates

IMG_3003[1]edited

Click here for a full list and to find out what all the jazz is about!

DAY 4. – Book turned into a movie and completely desecrated.

Hello, y’all! I know we just talked a while ago about Bout of Books, but that doesn’t mean we don’t get to talk about something else now. I’m writing right now from the balcony, where my father and uncle are arguing about politics. I think it’s rather funny how even though they’re on the same side, they still have things to argue about such as technique and following steps and larger schemes. Grandma and Mum are half talking about Eid kahk and half dashing into the political conversation. But anyway… Do congratulate me! College application for my kind of people (out of country students) has finally been opened and I’m finally taking practical steps toward college! Yay.

6547809

Now, let’s talk about books!

Truthfully, I don’t even like movies much.  And most of the time, when I watch a movie based on a book, I’m quite disappointed. But one book that I really, really admired and was butchered rather horridly in the movie was My Sister’s Keeper. EVERYTHING was ruined. The movie wasn’t based on the book, it was vaguely inspired  by the story. OH. MY. GOD. Everything I liked about the book was omitted. The story of my favourite character, Taylor, was altered and sabotaged –I don’t really remember how, I’m a bit of an amnesiac. Jesse’s role was almost nonexistent. And there was that woman that knew the lawyer, I don’t think she was in the movie, and she was my second favourite character. And the ending wasn’t the same. THE ENDING. THE CORE PURPOSE OF THE BOOK. I died, basically.

But the truth must be told. The movie is good; the acting is quite great, and I even cried a little while watching the movie. But it just stripped the book of most of its unique qualities.

So yeah. I wish I had more to tell you, but I watched the movie 10 months ago, so most of the details are gone from my pretty little head. Anyway, I’ll see you in tomorrow’s post. Now, I’ll go read instead of write about reading.

Talk to y’all soon!

Leave a Reply

