Bookish Challenges: Summer Lovin’ Read-a-thon Day 4


Oooohkay. So yesterday, I didn’t really get the chance to read much. Everyone here was just writhing around in front of the TV, waiting to see what’ll happen in Egypt and the president and all. Then we went down to celebrate with the rest of the people where there was lots of stuff like this:

ImageImage

 

 

That aside.

Today’s participation post is about: Tears on My Pillow:

  • Share a quote from your current read or tell us about a book that really pulled on your heart strings. What was it about that book/quote that made you cry?

I’m not too far ahead in my current read, so I still haven’t come across something that’s very quotable. Nonetheless, one of my recent reads that has really tugged on my heart –which really hasn’t been happening as often with the bad reading streak I’m having– is the Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. Like I said in my review of it, which you can see here, I am going through a massive transition. I’m moving out of a very restrictive community to a more open, normal one. I’m heading out of a school that I’ve been for FOURTEEN years and now I have to head off to COLLEGE. And a part of me, because of this, just really sympathised with Holden and how people didn’t really care about anything he said or felt. People treat me like that sometimes, saying there’s so much I don’t understand. The other part of me just wanted to do what Holden did. Just escape for a little while, watch the world on my own without having the people I know try to control it. So yeah, that’s the book.

Leave a Reply

