Book Review (#15): The Catcher in the Rye Mini-Review

catcher in the rye

Do you guys know how long this book has taken me? I started this right before my SAT exam at the beginning of May. Then I realise it wouldn’t help make my style for elegant but rather more casual so I decided to ditch it for a reread of the Great Gatsby. Then school finals happened and I didn’t pick up the book again till the beginning of June. And I just finished it a couple of nights ago and I’m ready to talk about it with y’all right now.

At first, I didn’t think I was going to like the book. Why would I want to read about a guy who whines and complains about everything. But the more I read of it the more I felt like Holden. I began to focus on things the way he does and I found out that I too would be just as bothered. And soon, I began to realise that this stems from my lack of preparation for a massive change in my life. I just wanted to criticise society and the city I just moved to last night and the way people view choice of majors and colleges, hoping that if I point out enough faults in it, I can escape having to deal with it. And I just loved that moment when all of this dawned on me, just because of a book. Just because of Holden.

I honestly don’t know what to say about this book. I mean, all that really happens in the book is that Holden goes around and talks to people and takes walks and ride in cabs. There’s no major plots or anything; just Holden and his wandering thoughts and cutting-edge bitterness. Yet, it’s so much more. Because when you read it carefully and put yourself in Holden’s shoes, all you’ll want to do is cry. Or that’s how it made me feel anyway. Yet I don’t know how to say what I want to say because it would just ruin the story for you if you intend to read it.

Oh yes. Here’s something! I loved the relationship between Holden and his little sister. Not only did it make the story a lot more fun and showed us a brighter and warmer Holden, but it also showed how deeply he wanted to go back to being a child. And I loved how it was her who, in the end, sort of helped him feel a little bit better.

I think all I want to say is that not everyone would like this book. If you’re into the whole stylistic prose thing –which I am, you’d hate it a bit because Holden’s manner of speech can get a bit too repetitive. But if you really focus, you’d see that there’s reason behind the word choice and the style and that this really just lets you into Holden’s world in a way nothing else would. I say you should give it  a shot anyway. I liked it. It’s the book that broke the bad streak of reads I’ve been suffering from and it probably is the one to bring me out this reading slump.

Hope y’all are having  a wonderful summer and good reads.

9 thoughts on “Book Review (#15): The Catcher in the Rye Mini-Review

  1. I went thought the same thing with this book: I started it, then realized it was not the best time to read this kind of book and set it aside for something else. I haven’t picked it up again, so it’s good to know you liked it ans could relate to it, because what I basically hear about it is that it’s a bit depressing. Thanks for making me want to finish it 😀

    • It’s only depressing because it feels so real in a way. But it ends on a happy note which should make it all better. I do hope you like it! 🙂

      Thanks for coming by. 😀

    • That’s basically why I read it. I also was slightly curious as to why it was banned before and so on. I’m glad I read it though and I hope you do get around to reading it soon as well. Good luck! 🙂

      Thanks for coming around.

  2. One of my favorite books of all time. A lot of people doesn’t like it and I can see why: nothing really happens aside from Holden talking and complains about every single thing that gots in his way. But his opinions and the way he sees things is what makes this book so special for me, because I can see a lot of myself in Holden.
    I guess is the kind of book either you love or you hate. There’s no inbetween. I’m glad you liked it 🙂

    • That’s actually what I like about it. Even though it seems like nothing happens at all and that everything Holden says is pointless, there’s a lot of depth to the story and a lot of sentiments that many of us could easily relate to and understand. And I agree with you on the whole love or hate thing; controversial books are usually like that, no?

      Thanks for coming by! 😀

  3. Stuff Jeff Reads says:

    Thanks for the review. I read it so long ago, and my daughter recently read it and as she was talking to me about it, I realized I don’t remember much of the book, just snippets, so I guess I will read it again. If you have not read “Franny and Zooey,” let me recommend that one. It’s a less-known Salinger novel that I thought was amazing. Cheers!

    • I think it’s a good thing you don’t remember much about it; it means you’ll probably discover loads of new things when you reread it. I do hope to reread it one day and explore it differently at some point. And no, I haven’t read ‘Franny and Zooey”. Hopefully, I’ll get around to reading it soon.

      Thanks for coming by and for the recommendation. 😀

  4. I have no idea why, but when I finished it I felt like crying. At first I didn’t like the language, but then I realized I can relate to Holden’s story. We all go through that phase in our childhood when we just have so many questions but nobody answers so we just wonder what’s the purpose of life. He was not stupid at all, just lacked guidance.
    Overall I enjoyed the book, even if I cannot say why…Maybe because it’s just so real.
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

