Book Review (#14): The Kite Runner

Image

Image

So I’ve talked about how I have this habit of abandoning projects midway several times on this blog already. But this isn’t the case this time. I was doing my final round of final exams at school. Like ever. And now that I’m officially done with high school, I can come back on here and rave about books without any concerns.

And I’m here today with a review on the popular novel by Khaled Hosseini “The Kite Runner”.

A Thousand Splendid Suns probably was my first adult novel ever. I read it around April of last year and I loved it so much because I do clearly remember weeping non-stop over Part III. So when I managed to get my hands on the Kite Runner, which several of my friends had read and recommended, I was more than ready to devour it and love it. Sadly, though, I didn’t.

First of all, I have to say that I don’t even remember much about it. And I’m not the kind of person who forgets book content easily; if I do like a book, I’d be able to rant about it enough to someone regardless of how long ago I’ve read it. I only read this book mid-April and all the details seem to have found a way to fleet away from my memory.

Secondly comes something that I wasn’t too keen on back when I was reading a Thousand Splendid Suns but do keep an eye out for at the moment, which is writing style. Personally, I found Khaled Hosseini’s prose rather boring and many of the phrases he used felt a bit too stale for me. I’d just read the Lover’s Dictionary right before this one; even though Levithan’s book lacked a solid, unique, culture-exploring plot, it was written with magnificent style. So maybe I only felt this way about the Kite Runner because of this? I do doubt that though.

Let’s break this mean streak by talking about something I actually liked. I liked the scenery and setting and especially the kite running. I think there were two or three kite running scenes in the entire book and these are the ones that really gripped me. I just love reading about such activities and I loved how detailed those bits were and how he didn’t only focus on the kite but also what surrounded it from weather to sky to land. And even though I didn’t like the narrator at all, I loved the parts where he talked about his love for reading and his aspiration to become a writer.

But anyway. What perhaps bothered me the most was that I was unable to sympathise with any of the characters throughout the entire story no matter what kind of jeopardy the author placed them in. And I phrase it that way because it sometimes felt to me as though it was gore and tragedy just for the sake of gore and tragedy. For me, the events felt a bit too forced. You know how I saw it? I saw it as a series of unfortunate events put together, just to try and force some sort of emotion out of me. And the problem was that I could see the cracks between the different pieces taped together. I don’t know. I’m no expert and I know this is a book regarded with worldwide appreciation , but I just didn’t like it. I mean, this is a book that my friend who can’t bear the act of reading got through and actually admires and recommends. But it just didn’t suit me.

This is a book that I did finish in three days or less but after finishing I just felt bad. And then I got into a reading slump because it just bothered me. I don’t mean to slander this book or criticise anyone who likes it. I understand why some people may like it. My best friend swears by it. But it just wasn’t for me, for some reason.

And I guess that this is all I have to say about it. Hopefully, I’ll start reading again soon now that I’m done with school. I’m currently midway through the Catcher in the Rye. I hope everyone is having a time as great as I am, stacking their books for the summer and putting together their to-be-read and to-be-bought lists.

See you guys soon!

You can also find me on:

Goodreads || Instagram || Tumblr || Twitter

2 thoughts on “Book Review (#14): The Kite Runner

  1. It’s such a chame you didn’t like it, I loved this book and it’s the reason I read A Thousand Splendid Suns! But looking back I think that if I’d read them the same way round as you I might feel the same way…..

    • So a Thousand Splendid Suns really is better than the Kite Runner? I really did want to like it though. I do admit that I like that it’s different from the other popular books as it focuses on affairs in the east, but yeah…

      Thanks for coming by! 😀

Leave a Reply

