Bookish Things: Challenges: Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

bout of books

I’m starting to realise that being a book blogger may not be very healthy or sane. Because: a. It makes you buy loads of books and b. because it makes you do crazy things like read-a-thons in the most inappropriate of times. But does this kindling realisation get in my way of participating in the activities that make this community thrive? Hell no. For example, I have a TOEFL exam on Saturday. Also, my finals start on Saturday. But does this discourage me from joining the Bout of Books Read-a-Thon. For about a week, it kinda did. But now that that the read-a-thon is starting in less than an hour in my timezone, joining is sort of inevitable. And if you wanna know what Bout of Books is, scroll down or click here to find the read-a-thons official site.

The thing is, you see, I keep saying I have no time for things but I don’t actually do anything. I do things like start watching Broadchurch and playing Subway Surfer for, like, two consecutive hours. And I don’t read because “I have finals coming up”. Nonetheless, I do believe that if I narrow down my entertainment options to JUST reading for the marathon, then I might actually get some studying done. It’s twisted logic, but it actually works for me. Or I hope it will anyway.

So what is Bout of Books?

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team”

Sounds like fun, yeah? The only problem now is that I don’t have any books. Okay, I do have unread books but I’m saving them for the summer. But I do have three books that I started and didn’t finish. I might abandon one of them along the way and its substitute will probably be And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. I need to get into this marathon while I’m prepared. So let’s make a list.

1- The Etymologicon by Mark Forsyth

2- The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger (which I might abandon)

3- The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket (which I started in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon)

4- And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (just in case)

 

Let me know if you’re joining this marathon so we can encourage each other and do fun stuff. We can also complain about it and such. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Bookish Things: Challenges: Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

  1. I really like that this read-a-thon is low stress and I may have to participate. I’m going to mosey on over to those other blogs now. : )

Leave a Reply

