Book Review (#13): The Lover’s Dictionary

lovers dictionary

5

Okay, so I do realise that I’m behind on reviewing but the past month I was super busy with prom planning. Now that that’s over though, I have time to catch up. I do have my finals in a week though so I’m not sure how much reading I’ll get done. But anyway… Let’s review the Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan, which I read mid-March… I think.

 

By now, you should probably know that I’m always a bit wary when I venture into YA. But David Levithan is usually associated with John Green and I admire John Green, not only as an author but as a person in general as well, so I thought I’d give David Levithan a shot. I’d heard about this book a while back and thought the idea of a dictionary that relates words to love was quite intriguing. What I didn’t know that it actually told a story –that there were characters and some sort of a plot. And I really enjoyed that.

Mostly, it’s incredibly vague. We never get to know the characters’ names or what they really look like. Yet, Levithan wrote it in a way that made me feel intimate with the characters anyway. He found a way to slip in traits and attitude despite the brief style of the book.

For me, the best thing about this book was how artistic it is. I mean, I’m not the kind of person who’s really into books that revolve solely around romance. And though this book is called the Lover’s Dictionary, it didn’t feel like it was all about romance to me. There was a variety of emotions, from independence to anger, to possessiveness and uncertainty. And what really made these feelings come across was how beautifully written everything is. It’s almost poetic most of the time and I enjoyed that loads. Reading that book put me in such a good mood and gave me inspiration to go and write the graduation speech! And I love it when books do that to me.

The only thing that may have bothered me about this book is the fact that it made me feel a bit dumb because I didn’t know some of the words David Levithan has chosen. I was reading it on my iPad so things went quite smoothly anyway but had I read it in paperback or such and needed to look up words every new page, I do believe I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much. Despite my love fr learning new words! But that’s the thing with this book! I felt so immersed in it and I don’t think I would’ve liked being dragged out of it every now and then to fish words out.

It’s a really small, adorable book and that’s why I don’t believe I have anything else to say about it. I would say you should give it a shot if you’re in a reading slump or if you just want to read something that’s light but isn’t necessarily silly.

Let me know what you thought of this book if you’ve read it already!

One thought on “Book Review (#13): The Lover’s Dictionary

  1. theskepticalreader says:

    I just got this book too, can’t wait to read it. I got it on my iPad too, good to know it will work out better if I read it as an e-book. 🙂 Awesome review! I feel like Green and Levithan are always linked too.

Leave a Reply

