Book Review (#10): The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

Image

3

Do you guys know how long I’ve been saying I’m excited to read this book but kept on putting it off till now? Since January! Which is ridiculous because if you’re excited about a book and it’s lying on your shelf, why would you avoid it?! I don’t get it. But anyway. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe managed to exceed my expectations, and I ended up enjoying it more than the Magician’s Nephew made me think I would.

I don’t know if I’ve said this before on my blog but… I didn’t read when I was a child. I was juggling learning two languages, my native one and English, and I wasn’t sufficiently good at either so I couldn’t enjoy/didn’t read. And this is why I feel like I should try and compensate for that now even though I’m way out of the age range. I have to say that among the 5 children books I’ve read so far, the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe has to be my second favourite –Charlie and the Chocolate Factory being the first.

Image

Unlike the Magician’s Nephew, the second book of the Chronicles of Narnia made me understand why this series is so popular and why it means a lot to many people. I personally believe that what makes this book so special is its characters and how easy it is to relate to many of them. I found myself sometimes while reading it nodding to myself because I remember feeling/thinking similarly when I was younger and even now sometimes. I think what also made me appreciate the book is the relationship between Peter, Edmund, Lucy, and Susan. I see a lot of Peter and the way he handles matters in myself and of Edmund in my younger brother. So yeah, being able to relate to this book is probably the biggest factor.

ImageThere’s also something about C.S Lewis’s description of feelings in the book that made it feel so real and fleshed out all the characters and the events. On the other hand, I had some problems with his description of physical objects and surroundings. For example, in the scene of the final battle, I felt as though he just wanted to get over with it, so he didn’t talk about it much. But I’d rather have read a bit more about the details of what was going on then than having to read descriptions of how beautiful Narnia is a thousand and one times. But I suppose that’s really important in children books, and that I probably would’ve really enjoyed reading or listening –especially listening– about all the places and creatures and so on. But I also do suppose I would’ve liked to see more about what was going on during the battle.

I was very, very happy to see how closely the movie followed the book. I mean, I wish all the movies of the books I like were as faithful to their books as this one is. I think it’s also worth mentioning that I’ve watched the movie before reading the book; that never seems to ruin things much for me.

Image

So basically what I want to say is… if you’ve been discouraged to continue the series because you started out with the Magician’s Nephew, you definitely should still give the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe a try. I know I don’t regret it. That said, I don’t think I’ll be reading any more books of this series. Maybe if/when I have children, I may give the other books a shot if the children want to. And even if that happens, it’ll be a long time from now. But otherwise, I don’t think anything else will happen between me and these books.

One thought on “Book Review (#10): The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

  1. I read this book twice when I was younger and never particularly got on with it, then I read the Magician’s Nephew and actually like that one more, lol! But I still wasn’t that bothered. I think I started the third one in the series but then gave up (I was fickle with books when I was younger). I’m thinking I might try them again now as an adult and see what I think of them, I would like to know what happens in the whole story rather than just the start of it. My friend has the whole series so I might borrow them off her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

