Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

top ten

It has been almost 3 months since I’ve last done this meme, so I thought I’d go ahead and do it again. In case you don’t know, this meme is created by the Broke and Bookish. This week’s topi seemed to be an easy one to compile a list for. Let’s see how that goes!

I’ll start with the contemporaries I’d recommend then make my way over to the classics.

(1–>4)

Image

Whenever anyone who doesn’t read but wants to start reading asks what should they read first, Harry Potter is always what I recommend. The best thing about it is that it’s a series, so if someone gets hooked, they will have 7 books to go through before having to wonder what to read next.

Image

The Help is one of those books I couldn’t ever put down. I was really worried I wouldn’t like it because it was my first historical novel. But Ioved it and loved all of its characters and I actually gave a copy of it as a gift quite recently. I am glad to say the person I gave it to loved it as well.

Image

The Maze Runner is one of the few YA books I decided to give a chance and actually admired (click on the picture to find my review of it). I admire it mostly for its style of writing. It’s also suitable for such a wide age range, so I feel comfortable recommending it to almost anyone.

Image

I always tell everyone that this book is my baby. It’s just so beautifully written and raises a number of questions and a incites a surge of mixed emotions… Above all of that, it’s just fun to read. And I was happy to pass on my copy (though a bit scared about its physical state) to several of my friends who admired it as well.

Image

I read this book around September 2012 and I cried over it. Basically, I love stories that entwine medicine; the presence of just that makes the story ten times more interesting for me. I would recommend this book to anyone trying to get into adult fiction. It’s not extremely mature, nor is it exactly YA.

(6–>8)

Image

I recommend this book for every book lover out there. It raises a lot of questions and fears; it makes wonder whether we readers really are a handful. And if we aren’t, is our number, by the day, dwindling? It’s the kind of book that leads you to realise all the things that makes you love reading. Or that’s what it was like to me. (Click on picture for review)

Image

Nothing beats a book than one that depicts and criticises society simultaneously. And this is precisely what Fitzgerald does in the book. But what adds to this book’s beauty is the elegance of Fitzgerald’s prose and his characters who burst with humanness and reality whether for their faults or their normalcy.

Image

This is another classic that paints an accurate picture of society while criticising it. Except that Wilde criticises society more explicitly than Fitzgerald does. Also this book includes supernatural elements and its characters just reveal a whole lot about life and us as humans. I always recommend this to anyone who wants to try out a new classics because its my favourite classic ever.

 I’m always excited to share with people my love for books and I love it when I recommend a book to someone and they come over to me and tell me how much they loved it or what they didn’t like about it, and then we’d start talking and arguing about it. It’s just more fun to me than many other things.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

  1. I love The Picture of Dorian Gray. The lot of characters are awfully interesting, and however tragic, I couldn’t help but feel fascinated by Dorian’s descent. Wilde was immensely talented, and I can’t wait to read more of his work that I have lying around.

  2. Fahrenheit-451 is one of my most-recommended books, too. It’s short, easy to read, and is really fascinating; it appeals to just about anyone. I brought my sister my copy (along with a few other books) when she spent a few weeks in the hospital last year, but she wound up spending most of her time watching TV instead of reading 😛

    • I definitely agree with you. I’ve passed the book on to two of my friends already and the both really like it. Also, I think my sister would’ve done the same thing too. She took the Help from me about 2 months ago and I think she’s abandoned it now.

      • Haha I keep unloading books on my sister — not just ones I think she should read, but ones I think she’d really like — but she never reads them. They just don’t listen, do they? My mom’s a little bit better – I got her to read Life of Pi!

  3. jeff japp says:

    I thought I was going crazy. Your list has 11 books 😉 I was like, I read 7, but there are 4 I haven’t read. Anyway, thanks for sharing your list. The Help is one that I want to read. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

