February TBR (Cosmopolitan Month)

Someone had told me that this year’s gonna be a leap year, but I just did the math and was disappointed to realise that it won’t. I don’t know how that is relevant, but yeah… I have surprisingly adhered to my January reading plan which makes me very happy and eager to  plan February. For this month, I have chosen six books and each of them occurs in a different place. February will, from now on, be my cosmopolitan month.

Image

1. Macbeth by William Shakespeare 

So although I usually don’t read the books in the order I list them, Macbeth will be the first book I read in February. We’ll be taking it this term in school and I want to be reading ahead just to sort of experience it on my own and see how far I’d get with it without any help. My friend Patricia is such a massive Shakespeare fan and her zeal for him is one of the reasons I’m so excited to start reading this! (England/Scotland)

2- The Phantom of Opera by Gaston Leroux

I have recently come across Delaisse’s event French February for which we’re supposed to read books by French authors. And with my desire to pick different settings, I decided that I want to try out this book! It seems like such a dark read and it gives me Edgar Allen Poe vibes so that makes quite intrigued to begin this. This will also probably be my first translated book. (France)

3- The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Despite my disappointment with the Magician’s Nephew, I’m quite excited about this one! I have watched the movie a couple of years ago and loved it and I want to see how it compares to the book and all of that. I also am hoping that I find it interesting and fun enough so I can recommend it to my younger brother who is just starting out with reading. (Narnia)

4- The Lemon Tree by Sandy Tolan

Nonfiction. After I walked out of the bookstore excited about this book, my friend and I discovered that it’s nonfiction. And that made it all the more exciting. I cannot wait to begin this book! It’ll be my first nonfiction book ever and it really does help broaden my horizons when it comes to reading. The reviews on it are mostly positive and yeah… I hope I give it a positive review as well! (Palestine/Israel) 

5- The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

I’ve had this book for about 3 years, read a bit of it when I first bought it then dropped it. That’s why it looks a bit battered up. I think I’ve changed a lot since then as a reader and that I can actually enjoy this book now. So let’s see how that goes. (America/Afterlife)

6- Sweet Liar by Jude Deveraux

Let’s be clear. I don’t pick up romance books so leave alone adult romance books. This is my best friend’s book and she lent it to me a couple of years ago and I still haven’t it given it back. It’s February and there’s Valentine’s (which hardly has any significance in my life) so I thought, you know, let’s give it shot. Chances are I’ll abandon it and pick up a classic or something, but we’ll see.

What are you reading this month? And have you read any of the books above and liked them? If so, do let me know! 🙂

Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “February TBR (Cosmopolitan Month)

  1. I’ll be interested to hear what you think about Macbeth. It is one of extremely few booksI read and enjoyed during high school, even if my memory of it has turned vague (a re-read might help…). Likewise, I hope you like C.S. Lewis! I had no clue there was a prequel until I got the B&N leatherbound edition — not exactly excited to read it, so I might just jump back into the The Lion, the Witch, and the Wordrobe.

    Enjoy the books!

    • Macbeth is definitely the highlight of my high school literature course. Next term we’re taking Pride and Prejudice so I know how that’ll go. And I hope you’ll enjoy the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I didn’t get to read it in February, but I’ll do so soon, I hope.

      Thanks for coming by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

