The Classics Club Book List

So I happen to live in a city with only two bookstores that sell English books. One of them has mainly classics, and has very pretty penguin editions of many of them. Therefore, the probability that I buy a classic book is usually very high. I also happen to have several classics from back when I was such a young, negligent yet ambitious young reader who thought she could tackle classics.

Therefore, it’s only sensible that I join the Classics Club. And so, I’ve compiled this list in order to join and hopefully, within 5 years –if not less– I will have finished these 50 books. 😀

1- Persuasion by Jane Austen

2- Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

3- Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

4- Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

5- Selected Letters by Jane Austen

6- Emma by Jane Austen

7- To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

8- Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

9- The Go Between by L.P. Hartley

10- A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

11- David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

12- A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

13 –>15 The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

16- Selected Stories by Henry James

17- The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

18- Animal Farm by George Orwell

19- 1984 by George Orwell

20- Macbeth by William Shakespeare

21- The Taming of the Shrew by William Shakespeare

22- Hamlet by William Shakespeare

23- Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

24- A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

25- Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

26- Little Men by Louisa May Alcott

27- Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

28- The Beautiful and the Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

29- Tender Is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald

30- This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

31- The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

32- The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

33- The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

34- Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens

35- The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

36- The Story of an Hour by Kate Chopin

37- The Awakening by Kate Chopin

38- The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

39- The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank

40- Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

41- For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway

42- A Movable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

43- The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo

44- Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

45- Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

46- Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

47- Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

48- Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

49- Cherry Orchard by Anton Chekhov

50- I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

Here’s to 5 years of good, rich literature.

15 thoughts on “The Classics Club Book List

    • I’ve read the Red-Headed League back in ninth grade and have been wanting to start reading Sherlock Holmes ever since; I think it’s about the time I got started. And Emma is quite nice; I’ve read half of it but then forgot about it and now I need to read it from the beginning. I really hope you get to read it soon and like it. 😀

    • Ah, believe it or not, it was kinda tough to pick ONLY 50 classics. Which ones have you read though? I’d love to get really excited about reading any of them! 😀

      Thank you for commenting! 😀

      • I’ve only read Hamlet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Romeo and Juliet and Of Mice and Men. I can imagine it was very hard choosing only 50 books! Some others I would recommend for once you’ve finished this list would be:

        A Picture of Dorian Grey – Oscar Wilde
        The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde – Robert Louis Stevenson

        Both very good books, have you read either of them?

        Amy x

      • I’m completely thrilled for Shakespeare. One of my friends is so into his work and has been urging me to start for such a long time! And yes, I’ve read the Picture of Dorian Gray! It’s my absolute favourite classic. Like ever! And I’ve heard of The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, I suppose, but I don’t think I know much about it. 🙂

      • Shakespeare was a cool guy, Hamlet is my most favourite of the ones I’ve read! The Picture of Dorian Gray is brilliant, I read it during my a-levels and fell in love! You should give The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde a go, it isn’t very long! 🙂

      • We’re taking Macbeth this term in Literature but I want to read it on my own first and see how far I’d get with it. And I cannot express my love for Dorian Gray in words, honestly. Just the best book ever!

        And I’ve just looked up The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde on Goodreads and it seems quite interesting! Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll let you know what I think when I get my hands on it.

      • I have never read Macbeth but I’m sure I’ll get round to it at some point! Dorian Gray is awesome! Ahh yes I look forward to seeing what you think, it’s an interesting one!

  1. jeff japp says:

    I’ve read 22 on your list… so far. This year I have committed to reading all of Shakespeare’s plays, including the one’s I have already read. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

    • Wow! I hope I’d stick to this long enough to read 22 books out of it. Would you particularly recommend any of them? Like favourites? And I really hope you reach your goal! I’ve just started my first Shakespearean play (Macbeth) and I’m really enjoying it so far.

      • jeff japp says:

        Well, I think Hamlet is the greatest work in literature – period. But that’s just me. Of the ones I’ve read on your list, I really liked Crime and Punishment, For Whom The Bell Tolls, and Animal Farm (better than 1984, imho). Really, you can’t go wrong with any of them. Bear in mind that some people struggle with Woolf, though. When I read her stuff in college, my professor quoted her as saying that she wanted to do away with the superfluous stuff like plot. 🙂 Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

