Reading Challenge: Feminist Reads Challenge

Image

I’ve been a budding feminist for as long as I can remember; I knew what I stood by, I defended women inwardly because, for so long, I didn’t know how to put my defence into words. Then, one day, a guy said something to me that made me boil with anger. He said so lightly, so naturally, as though it was the most obvious thing in the world. Which made me even more angry.

I didn’t retaliate back then, but as I let his discriminating comment brew in the back of my brain, my feminism streak began to glow brighter, forcing me out of my silent battles. And now, for that particular time when I let that guy walk away with his stupid notion, I respond every time someone tries to belittle women. And everyone I know understands that about me now.

Therefore, when I saw this challenge, I was overly thrilled and I knew that, although I was already in too many challenges this year, I had to participate in it!

The Feminist Reads Challenge is hosted by the Hiding Spot, and she’s made a beautiful introductory post for the challenge! You should definitely tag along on this journey!

I’m aiming for the Hard level, which means I’ll have to read more than 10 books which have strong, lead female characters. I already have 3 of those planned out!

1. Persuasion by Jane Austen

2. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

3. Poison Study by Maria V. Synder

I can’t wait to come upon others!

PS. I’ve finished reading a book today and its review should be up soon!

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge: Feminist Reads Challenge

Leave a Reply

