Reading Challenge: Back to the Classics

Oh yay! I’ve made it long enough in the reading community (*cough* one month *cough*) that I get to participate in the new year’s reading challenges! Let the madness ensue!

I’m here again as I’ve finished another 200 e-pages of Looking for Alaska. I should probably study, but I promised I’d work on my blog and prep for the new year. Who cares about getting into college?

The-Fault-in-Our-Stars

So… Challenge #1 that I join is the Back to the Classics challenge that is hosted by sarahreadstoomuch and you can go and find out more about that challenge on her blog.

Guess who is excited enough that they’ve set up their list already? Read more to find out!

Don’t ask me why I’m writing like this; I’m in a weird mood and I have no proper justification.

But here is my initial list, which is tentative and will probably be altered throughout the year. It’s a good starting point nonetheless.

THE CATEGORIES:

 The Required Categories:

  1. A 19th Century Classic: Persuasion by Jane Austen
  2. A 20th Century Classic: The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger or For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
  3. A Pre-18th or 18th Century Classic: Hamlet or Macbeth or the Taming of the Shrew by Shakespeare
  4. A Classic that relates to the African-American Experience: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  5. A Classic Adventure: Alice through the Looking Glassby Lewis Carroll
  6. A Classic that prominently features an Animal: The Witch, the Lion, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Optional Categories:

   A.  Re-read a Classic: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

   B.  A Russian Classic: (pending)

   C.  A Classic Non-Fiction title: (pending)

   D.  A Classic Children’s/Young Adult title: The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger or the Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis

   E.  Classic Short Stories: Henry James story collection

 I’m super, super excited about this since it’s been my plan to read a classic each month anyway. This way is a lot better though because it’ll force me into being exposed to so many different genres and ideas! Are you going to join? If not, what are other book challenges are you participating in?

Happy new year, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Reading Challenge: Back to the Classics

Leave a Reply

