Book Review: The ABC Murders

Image

 

4

 

First of all, the cover! I absolutely love these relatively new (2011, I believe) editions by Harper Collins; they’re all gorgeous! When my friend first walked into the class with this book, even though I had no intention of reading it back then, all I could think was that it has such a pretty cover. Then, I finished all the books I was planning to read this month, read a couple of extra ones, ran out of things to read, and I decided to borrow this one from her. And it turns out, the story is just as beautiful as the cover!

I’ve only read short stories by Agatha Christie and this was my first mystery novel! So I was really worried it’d wear me out since I usually get tired of following all the details and remembering them, but I absolutely loved this one! It was structured masterfully that I never felt too overwhelmed by the events or the characters, so that made it a comfortable read.

The story has a very unique plot! We’ve got a serial killer and his victims are killed in an alphabetical order; he/she begins with a victim whose name starts with ‘A’ and is in a town that starts with ‘A’, then a victim with ‘B’ in a town that starts with ‘B’, and so on. In each crime scene, an ABC railway guide is found somewhere in the victim’s proximity. And somehow, the victims have nothing at all in common!

What added a lot to the story, I believe, were the characters! Poirot is such a darling! He says the queerest of things sometimes, and his intelligence is maddening! As I was reading the book, I kept quoting him on Facebook and tagging the friend who lent me the book. She loves him a lot too! The victims’ relatives are wonderful as well; their diversity (regarding how they were reacting to these murders) and their conflicting personalities were quite fascinating, and it was amazing to see how a few seemingly pointless things that we may slip into our speech while we’re rambling could bear so much significance on something like a murder. And this in particular, I believe, is what made me fall in love with Agatha Christie and this book. The way she mapped things out, the way she structured her characters to give us redherrings, the way she disguised the true murderer… It’s just talent that strikes me with awe.

I don’t think that I should be reviewing Agatha Christie; the whole world knows how phenomenal the Queen of Mystery is. Nonetheless, I do believe that there are so many Agatha Christie books out there and that it always helps to know which of them made people lose their minds. I know I need someone to guide me through them. Therefore, if you’re interested in starting to read Agatha Christie books or you’ve read some of her works but don’t know which one to pick up next, I strongly suggest this one! You’ll probably read the final 150 pages all in one go because of how gripping the story gets as the mystery grows more impossible to solve.

This book definitely sets for me a high standard when it comes to mystery, and I cannot wait to get my hands on another Agatha Christie book. Which one do you suggest I read? And if you’ve read the ABC Murders, what do you think of it?

As always, you can always add me on Goodreads; I’d love to see what everyone is reading.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The ABC Murders

  1. I thought this book was overrated! But that’s just my opinion!

    You should read “Murder on the Orient Express” and “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd”. I think those are much better!

    • Hmm… I am not entitled to agree or disagree since it was my first mystery novel. All I can relay is that I really enjoyed it. Also, “Murder on Orient Express” has been suggested to me several times and I’m hoping I’ll get to read it soon!

      Thank you for the comment! 😀

Leave a Reply

