December Book Haul

You probably don’t know much about me yet, but I promise you that this’ll change gradually. One thing you should know about me is that reading is an essential part of my life. Another thing you should know is that sometimes I get distracted and forget to read. Therefore, I decided that keeping the blog updated about my reading activities would help remedy that.

 Image

A few days ago, I was in a terrible mood due to NaNoWrimo, and my parents dragged me out of the house against my will. I had an internal debate between cheering myself up with a cupcake with a Starbucks frapaccino and going to the bookstore even though I already had several unread books at home. And guess what I chose?

BOOKSTORE! And this particular one has an impeccable classics department! So yeah… Now I have a massive stack of books to tackle!

 

This month, I apt to read:

Image

I’d never heard of this book before that angry Nano night, honestly. And I’m not the kind of person who can claim a book off the shelf and take it home. I have to research the book and read a few reviews; a habit I’ve had to pick up after a few bad book purchases. I had already read Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Importance of Being Earnest’ before and loved it, and when I read through this book’s summary, I couldn’t put it back on the shelf. This is the book I’m starting with and I can’t be more excited about it!

Image

I read five pages of this book a few months ago, but I was having Downton Abbey marathons at the time, and I worried that the storylines would entangle in my head or that having too much of this estate, old-England theme would be overwhelming and lead me to abandoning both, the show and the book. My first Kazuo Ishiguro book had been ‘Never Let Me Go‘, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and I can’t wait to go ahead with this one.

Image

I’m not sure if I’ll have enough time this month to squeeze this book in as well, but I’ve been meaning to read it for a while now. I’ve been told it’s a quick yet very interesting week, so I hope I can read it this month. Reading it will also greatly depend on whether or not I’ll find my card for the school’s library.

What books are you reading this month?  Have you asked for any specific books for Christmas?

-Manno

2 thoughts on “December Book Haul

  1. Good choices! I’m curious about Dorian Gray. I saw a tv series or movie on tv not so long ago and it was really good. I’m wondering whether to read the book.

    The Remains of the Day is really, really good. A slow read, but there’s so much happening between the lines. I loved it.

    I also read The Alchemist which I liked, but didn’t love.

    Good haul! Hope you’ll enjoy reading these and that it gets you in a much better mood again.

    • Oh, Dorian Gray was an absolutely marvellous read! It had Oscar Wilde’s unmistakable fingerprint on it as he criticised society and exposed its trivialities within this story’s unique plot. And I finished it really quickly, considering it’s a classic and all! I’ve written a detailed review on it earlier in the month too.

      And the Alchemist is a great book too. I think you need to be in a certain mood to really ‘love’ it.

      Thanks for commenting! 😀

Leave a Reply

